3 in the Key (March/April)

Sorry for the delay.

A lot of changes happening at TS(R)H.  We all hope that these changes will maintain the exceptional care we provide to our community as well as push forward with the innovative visions we have put into place.

That being said, here is a semi-late post of 3 in the Key (March/April)

 

So what do these 3 stars have in common?

 

Introducing 3 Key staff members of the MH team at the Scarborough Sites……

(**Click on any of the underlined links for more information**)

 

Nancy R. (Secretary at MH Adult Out-Patient Clinics, 1225 Kennedy Rd.)

Nancy1

 

What is your best childhood memory?

Summers in Portugal

Who would play you in the movie adaptation of your life?

Angelina Joile

What do you feel most proud of?

My three wonderful children

If you could travel anywhere, where would you go and why?

Bora Bora, love the peace of nature and the water

What are your top three favorite books and why?

Receipe books – love to cook and bake,  try new things

If you were prime minister, what is the first thing you would do?

Created programs to support people in need (poverty, disability, single parents, mental health)

What is your favorite part of your job?

My fellow co-workers and patients make me love to work here. I love making people smile.

How long have you worked at TSH?

16 ½ years

How would your friends describe you?

Easy going, friendly, caring, helpful and dependable

What does a perfect day look like to you?

at the cottage, waking up and having my coffee looking out at the lake. Going kayaking on the lake, followed by a BBQ with family and bon fire with a few glasses of wine. lol

What is a skill you’d like to learn and why?

Crisis training, CPR, De-escalating conflict and  info sessions on specific illnesses to increase my understanding and ability to serve my patients.

Fill in the blank: If you really knew me, you’d know_____.

I like to cook

What’s your favorite type of cuisine?

I love a variety, love to try different culture cuisine. I love Indian, Italian, Chinese, Portuguese, greek etc.

Who did you first see live in concert?

Bon Jovi

What’s the 1 thing you’ve waited in line the longest for?

Passport

If you could choose 1 amenity to add to the workplace, what would it be?

Renovate office, a nicer waiting area for patients and no carpet.

What other languages do you know?

Portuguese, understand Italian, Spanish. My patients teach me how to greet them in their language, Polish, Greek and Cantonese.

Do you have any hobbies?

Cooking, and I love the out doors

Which of your 5 senses is the strongest? How about weakest?

Strongest:  Taste

Weakest: sight (I wear glasses lol)

What was the most incredible exotic place you’ve ever traveled to?

Being a single mother, I can’t afford to travel but would love too. I went to Aruba

 

Steve T. (Case Manager, Community Programs Assertive Community Treatment Team, 2425 Eglinton)

steve

What is your best childhood memory?

My Grandmother cooking in the kitchen.  I was just in awe of how many dishes she was able to make.

Who would play you in the movie adaptation of your life?

Paul Sun-Hyung Lee (of Kim’s Convenience) – he seems to channel how I look only he carries it better!

What do you feel most proud of?

At home: My family.

At SRH: Having the privilege of working at the community programs site with some of the best people I have ever met.  Their sense of caring and compassion for clients and colleagues are what I feel most proud of.

If you could travel anywhere, where would you go and why?

I would love to take a cross-country trip across Canada as there is so much to love about our wonderful nation that I haven’t yet had the opportunity to experience seeing it from coast to coast.

What are your top three favorite books and why?

A Wrinkle in Time: This was the first book that made an impression on me in grade 3 and got me interested in the Sci-Fi genre.

The Art of Racing in the Rain: An unexpected book where the author tells the story from an auto-racing loving golden retriever’s perspective and how we develop our inextricable connections with our beloved canines.

Ordinary Moments – The Disabled Experience: A wonderful book of compiled individuals’ accounts of their struggles with various disabilities in their daily lives.

If you were prime minister, what is the first thing you would do?

I would ensure there are more supportive housing resources for people who are at-risk.

What is your favorite part of your job?

Seeing over time how individuals we work with tap into their own strength and resilience to forge ahead and reach their recovery goals.

How long have you worked at TSH?

18 years

How would your friends describe you?

Thoughtful, helpful, with an ok sense of humour.

What does a perfect day look like to you?

Waking up to a warm, sunny spring day and going for a drive with no particular destination in mind and no place I have to be at.

What is a skill you’d like to learn and why?

I would really like to learn to play the guitar as it seems so versatile to be able to take it wherever you want and to play a tune either for yourself or to entertain others.

Fill in the blank: If you really knew me, you’d know_____.

I really like to watch improvisational comedy.

What’s your favorite type of cuisine?

Yes! Cuisine is my favorite…. any.  As long as it’s cooked with care and love.

Who did you first see live in concert?

I think the first concert I saw live was when I was in school and went on a field trip to see the Toronto Symphony Orchestra.  The amazing richness of the live sounds subtle and loud made quite an impression on me.  As for the first live concert I paid money to see, I believe it was Genesis (the band).

What’s the 1 thing you’ve waited in line the longest for?

I seem to remember it was for Krispy Kreme doughnuts when they first opened in Mississauga.  I waited with some friends for two hours to try those “super-delicious” warm classic glazed wonders.  Ahhhh memories……  (see #13)

If you could choose 1 amenity to add to the workplace, what would it be?

Individual hvac controls for each office

What other languages do you know?

Cantonese

Do you have any hobbies?

Aside from food…..?  Does barbecuing count?!  I do like to work on/geek out on cars, music and woodworking.

Which of your 5 senses is the strongest? How about weakest?

I think my strongest sense is of hearing, my weakest – smells.

What was the most incredible exotic place you’ve ever traveled to?

China was amazing as I’ve never been to mainland China until we went there to adopt our eldest son Justin.  The sheer numbers of people in the cities were incredible as was the Great Wall.

 

Ashley M.  (RPN/Case Manager, Community Crisis, Birchmount Campus)

Ashley1

What is your best childhood memory?

Skiing with my grandfather

Who would play you in the movie adaptation of your life?

Cameron Diaz

What do you feel most proud of?

My nursing career

If you could travel anywhere, where would you go and why?

If I could go anywhere, I would travel to Africa. I would really enjoy helping the communities and going on an adventurous safari!

What are your top three favorite books and why?

I don’t have much time to read, however when I do get a chance I enjoy reading Jodi Picoult novels. One of my favourite is “House Rules” which is about a child with Asperger’s syndrome that finds himself involved in a murder. Very intense, had me reading for hours.

If you were prime minister, what is the first thing you would do?

Put more money in to mental health programs in the community

What is your favorite part of your job?

Being a positive influence in my patients lives.

How long have you worked at TSH?

Since 2005, I started on 3C medicine at the general campus

How would your friends describe you?

Well, I asked my friends this question and got many interesting answers…I will go with “Hardworking, genuine, passionate and empathetic”

What does a perfect day look like to you?

Hiking with my dog, cooking a new meal and killing it at the gym!

What is a skill you’d like to learn and why?

How to have better control of a motorcycle so I could get my full M license this year!

Fill in the blank: If you really knew me, you’d know________.

I love ice cream!

What’s your favorite type of cuisine?

I enjoy food in general… but would have to say italian.

Who did you first see live in concert?

The Backstreet Boys

What’s the 1 thing you’ve waited in line the longest for?

Tim Hortons… otherwise I don’t do lines!

If you could choose 1 amenity to add to the workplace, what would it be?

Be able to open the windows in the crisis office on 3B so we could get fresh air

What other languages do you know?

Sadly, none

Do you have any hobbies?

Cooking, hiking with my dog, the gym and travelling

Which of your 5 senses is the strongest? How about weakest?

Strongest- Smell Weakest- Hearing…however maybe I have selective hearing!

What was the most incredible exotic place you’ve ever traveled to?

Been to many places but I would say Santorini, Greece

 

 

Mental Notes would like to thank Nancy, Steve & Ashley for this months contribution.  You are all Key players in our department.

 

Leave a Reply

